Anyone Who’s Anyone: Oscar Fever

10 Feb

Photo by Alan Light on Creative Commons.

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit how much I enjoy watching the Academy Awards. I mean, I know it’s a bunch of self-congratulatory, overpaid narcissists thanking a bunch of people I don’t know, but I still get excited enough to mark it on my Google calendar a month in advance.

No matter what your opinion is of these kinds of awards shows, it’s undeniable that it’s more fun to watch them when you’ve actually seen the movies that are nominated. On Saturday, February 26, the AMC theater in Georgetown is showing ALL TEN best picture nominees.  (Note: If you’re driving, parking in this area can be a headache, so allow yourself plenty of time. If you’re walking from Foggy Bottom Metro, it’ll take about 20 minutes).

Want to take it to the next level? Well, might I suggest watching the short film nominees? You have not one but TWO viewing options.

  • The week before the Awards, the National Archives will be showing the nominees for Live Action Short Film and Animated Short Film, as well as Documentary Feature and Documentary Short Subject for free. The downside of them showing the films for free is that you’ll have to arrive well in advance to secure a ticket.
  • E Street Cinema in the Chinatown/Penn Quarter area, is also showing the nominees for Live Action Short Film and Animated Short Film this Friday, Saturday and Sunday. You have to pay a normal ticket price, but the brightside is you don’t have to wait in line for an hour.

A couple years ago I saw the Animated Short Film nominees at E Street, and I actually guessed the winner. Even though I was watching the awards by myself and my roommate was only vaguely humoring me from the kitchen, I still felt pretty hoity toity about it.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention, the Oscars are Sunday, February 27. If you’ve recently moved from another U.S. time zone, you’ll be bummed when you realize the show goes on well past bedtime. That’s the price of living on the East Coast!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

